I Am a Runner


You say I’m not a runner. Just because I am slow, you think I am just a jogger? I saw you laugh as I passed you on the sidewalk. I may not be much to look at, but I am what I am—I am a runner!

Don’t believe me? Well let me tell you…

  • I have drawers full of t-shirts, each with a unique date and distance measured using the metric system. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I know the fabric in my socks. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I don’t use toenail polish, but I do have a black toenail. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I’ve put Band-Aids on my heels, toes and nipples. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I wear very tight pants on winter mornings…and I am not ashamed. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I buy Powerade Zero, Clif Bars and Shot Bloks in bulk. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I own a headlamp, portable blinking red LED lights and a couple of fluorescent vests. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I know the number of miles my shoes have traveled. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I’ve given directions and pushed stranded cars off the road. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • On the 4th of July I gather with 60,000 close friends for a 6.2 mile party on Peachtree Road.  Therefore,I am a runner.
  • I know the distance I just covered in the last hour, to the 1/100th. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • My cat is named after my favorite shoes-we call him
    Mizuno. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I have several copies of Runner’s World on my nightstand. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I have medals on my wall and a 26.1 sticker on my car. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I use the words “shoes” and “retired” in the same sentence. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I’ve done my business in the woods and behind
    bushes in suburbia. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I don’t just have a Garmin in my car, I wear one. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • Sometimes I wear a bib. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I can tell you the best spots on the Greenway to a see a Blue Heron, an owl or deer. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I can define a Clydesdale, Fartlek, Taper and a PR. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I log into Dailymile before I log into Facebook. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • My cholesterol and blood pressure are down. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I love my BBQ, but I dream (irrationally) of BQ. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I’ve prayed and solved work issues along sidewalks, roadways and greenways. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I know that NASCAR drivers are not the only ones who ring up a DNF. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I own a belt that holds multiple small water bottles. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I’ve screamed at drivers who failed to stop for pedestrians in the crosswalk. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I’m grateful for the clean restrooms at QTs everywhere. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I’ve made a lot of new friends. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I eat healthier now. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I’ve seen the surprised look of the nurse as she continued to increase the speed on the treadmill. Therefore, I am a runner.
  • I’ve written a blog post on running, which you just read. Therefore…

I AM A RUNNER!

_________________________________

Feel free to add your comments below on how you know you are a runner too.

See also:

Today, at Age 50, I Ran My First Marathon

Saying Goodbye to My Running Partners

______________________________________

Jack Bruce lives in Atlanta, Georgia with his wife and four children.

You may follow Jack on Twitter at http://twitter.com/jackwbruce

Leave a Reply

