How I Escaped the Old Fisherman


Note: This story was written as a senior in high school. To read about “the story behind the story” read my previous blog on “My Teacher Changed My ‘C ‘to an ‘A’.”

The landing net hit the water and I knew that I had to exert at least one more outrageous lunge at the sky, if I were to be free! It all Largemouth-Bassstarted out this frosty wintery morning, with the water temperature a little above freezing, when I left my home around the old dead tree trunk in search of straying bluegill or crappie. I toured the water closest to the shore most of the morning but only found small minnows and dead catfish.

I went on back to my home by the log, half hungry, to just sit and rest till I would go out again for supper. I was leisurely lying there when “plop,” a worm fell from the sky. It sank deep to the bottom and then began to dance across the floor of my home. At times it would just bump into a rock as if it were not there. Then it did the queerest thing – it just took a dart for the surface and “pop” it was gone! A few seconds later another worm, about the same size and color, came charging from the sky and went the same route as the first and left the water as if it had wings. The next one came about a minute and a half later but this one was orange and floated slowly to the bottom, but it too just skimmed across the bottom and “zap” it was gone. This went on for almost 15 minutes. The worms varied from blue, to green, to orange, to yellow, to black, to purple. Some were short with winding tails, but all swam the same way and direction.

Finally, I could not stand it any longer. I darted from the old log with such fury that my tail left my home in a muddy state. I took one inhaling bite at the worm and I had it conquered, but no longer had I had it in my possession, but it began to pull me in such a way that I thought it impossible to be the force of such a small worm. Finding it impossible to swallow or let loose, I quickly darted to the surface and took three or four leaps that left three feet between me and the water. Then to my utter dismay, I saw a sight all bass never want to see – a FISHERMAN!

This fisherman had taken me by surprise, for you never see anybody fishing with the temperature at a wind-chill factor of -20 degrees. He had a bass boat about sixteen feet long; it was equipped with three rods, a gas heater and a landing net and other necessary items. (The landing net is not a play-toy for us bass, because once you enter it, you’re someone’s supper.)

I could hear the old fisherman rejoicing but telling himself to keep patient. He kept talking about my weight, which was thirteen and three-quarter pounds, and how nicely I would look mounted on his den wall.

The thought of being on his wall or having supper with him sent a surge of power through my fins. I took a dive back into the water and made a mad rush away from the old fisherman. By now the worm was inflicting sharp pains in my mouth, but I had to keep going. I jerked to the right and then back to the left but with no avail. My strength was leaving me and the pain shooting through my body did not help the matter.

Death seemed to be getting closer and closer as I drew near the boat. I was less than 10 yards away, and I knew I could not give up. I managed with painful agony to take a dive down to the bottom and with much pain circled my old log in hopes of tangling the fisherman’s line. It was there that I saw my death bed; the worm was now ripping at my upper lip, and I could not escape the fact that death was up above. My strength had left completely and all I could do was just lay on the bottom wrapped around the old log and hope the old fisherman would give up on me, but he did not! Finally, I gave in to the old fisherman and unloosed myself from the old log and, with what little strength I had, tried to escape, but he kept pulling me closer and closer and closer and now look! The landing net has hit the water and I know the old fisherman has me where he wants me.

By now every bone in my body is wracked with pain and my movements are slow and heavy. There is no hope for me now, my days here in this wide span of water are over, but the sight of that landing net has sent a supernatural flow of power through my body that I can not explain! I’ve hit the sky, and look! The over anxious fisherman has jerked the worm from my mouth, shredding my upper lip. I’m free, but oh what pain! I’m floating to the bottom as if I were dead and I have got to reach home and….rest! There’s the old log….Please let me make it, for at home I can tell all about how I….escaped the old……

Leave a Reply

